Human rights
International peace and security
Tolerance, respect and understanding
Freedom of Expression
Separation of Powers
Rule of Law
Good Governance
Previous slide
Next slide

Welcome to our Website

The Royal Commonwealth Society of Barbados promotes the value, and the values, of the Commonwealth for the benefit of the peoples and countries of The Commonwealth.

Our Patron

Her Excellency The Most Honourable
Dame Sandra Mason FB, GCMG, DA, Q.C., LLD

President of Barbados

Our Chairperson

Mrs. Cheryll Belle

About Us

Learn more about our organisation.

The Royal Commonwealth Society is an international educational charity working as a non-sectarian and non-political organization to promote the value, and the values, of the Commonwealth for the benefit of the peoples and countries of The Commonwealth.

The origin of The Royal Commonwealth Society dates back to 1868 when a non-political learned society of a different name was formed in London, England. With the creation of the Commonwealth, the current name was adopted in 1958.  In 2013, the Society transitioned into an international educational charity and adopted the values of the Commonwealth Charter.  The Barbados Branch was established in 1985 as an autonomous self-governing Branch and registered as a charity in 2011.  It promotes the value and the values of the Commonwealth among young people, through programmes aimed at nurturing their education, leadership skills and awareness of their role as global citizens.

The list of trustees of the Society are as follows:

  • Major Loius Belle,MBE,JP
  • Ms. J. E. ‘Betty’ Brathwaite
  • Ambassador (Rtd) . Dr. The Christopher Hackett
  • Mrs. Angela Simpson
  • Mr. Miles Weekes

Members of Council for the Period 2023-2024 are as follows

  • Chairperson – Mrs. Cheryll Belle
  • First Vice President – Dr Wihelm Bourne
  • Second Vice-Chairperson – Ms Brenda Pope
  • Secretary – Mr. Michael Griffith
  • Assistant Secretary – Mr. Quincy Yarde
  • Treasurer – Mr. Eric Mapp
  • Councillors
    • Senator The Rev’s Canon Dr John Rogers
    • Mr. Fozlo Brewster, CBE
    • Maj. John Mapp
    • Sir Marston Gibson KA
    • Mr David Williams
  • Immediate Past Chairperson – Mrs Kaye Williams


RCS 150 Trophy

The RCS 150 Trophy was launched in 2018 in celebration of the 150th anniversary of the RCS’ formation. This trophy, sculpted from mahogany depicting humanity

Read More »

Commonwealth Relay

The Commonwealth Relay was launched in 2015 in celebration of the 30th anniversary of the Branch and is supported by The Barbados Olympic Association. It comprises

Read More »